Rakudo To-Do List

With TimToady’s announcement today, I’m sure a lot of the p6 developers are thinking about what needs to be done before the release. So I thought I’d take a stab at writing down the things on my mind.

The one really big thing for me is the precompilation bug that’s stopped my ABC module from building on Rakudo since November last year. Thanks to Rakudobrew this isn’t a complete catastrophe — I just keep around an older version of Rakudo that can run ABC. But it is really annoying, and I think it suggests is seriously going wrong with the precompilation process. (If I’m lucky, jnthn++’s current work might resolve this one.)

The next one is much less important to me, but seems kind of worrying. A while back I tweaked the old mandelbrot.pl script to run in parallel. Alas, this script is wildly unstable, alternating between crashing, generating loads of warnings and incorrect results, and working.

One as-yet-unimplemented feature are the more unusual standard math functions. I’ve been meaning to do this for years, and actually started implementing them in Niecza at one point. I’ve considered restarting the process on Rakudo a few times recently, but the thought of implementing it on three different backends is kind of imposing. Maybe I’ll start with a module.

Huh. Seems like I started this post with one more thing on my mind, but I can’t remember what it was now. I will update it as needed.

One Response to “Rakudo To-Do List”

  1. 2015.06 In the wake of FOSDEM | Weekly changes in and around Perl 6 Says:

    […] made his own todo list for Perl 6.0. I can’t help but agree that currently seen precompilation issues, as well as instability […]

Leave a comment